Awkward & Awesome Thursday: Concust and Almost Homeless

AWKWARD

  • I have a concussion. I hit my head with a door on Sunday morning, simply because I am clumsy and was tired, and I woke up Monday with a bruise and lots of fun symptoms like dizziness, nausea, headaches, etc., which annoyed me enough by Wednesday to finally go to the doctor. The diagnosis? “You have a mild concussion. Rest your brain.” No TV, no computer… pretty impossible. So the headaches are here to stay for a while.
  • To add insult to injury (quite literally, pun intended), silly me had an eye exam directly after being diagnosed with a concussion. This was my second eye exam ever in my short lifetime, and I’m pretty sure they never gave me the eye drops that make your vision blurry for two hours the first time around. So, I left the doctor, went to work, and strained my eyes for a while, giving myself the hugest headache known to man. Someone call the karma police, seriously, this is not in any way fair. 
  • Our lease is up at the end of March, and Jamie and I have no idea if we’re staying or going. That’s okay in New York though, it’s oddly hard to plan a move more than two weeks in advance because of how quickly apartments turn over, but the planner in me is FREAKING OUT.

 AWESOME

  • Everything “awesome” has to do with fitness today. Awesome #1: hot yoga (also awkward). I’m a super beginner at yoga and probably shouldn’t be doing it in normal temperatures, but I’ve started going to hot yoga once per week. I can’t do half the poses, and I have to leave the room once per class – I am admittedly not yet a yogi – but I absolutely love it. I think I could sit in child’s pose the whole 90 minutes and still sweat it out more than a normal workout.
  • Awesome #2: Pilates reformer. I’ve been taking classes for about three weeks and I’m pretty much addicted. If you’re not familiar, Pilates reformer is different from regular Pilates mat workouts. The reformer machine uses springs for resistance and really helps you achieve stretches and positions you cannot do on your own. My goal is to strengthen my core in order to improve other things such as my posture and running.

That’s all I’ve got this week. I feel pretty boring, so to compensate, here are some awesome pictures of the lovely Giovanna and me from last weekend, courtesy of Photobot 3000:

581934_480609401995422_168587056_n 72379_480609441995418_1478245892_n 421780_480609461995416_444789028_n

Leave a Reply

