Anticipation is the Enemy

Waiting, waiting, WAITING. I am a very patient person on the regular day-to-day things, like dealing with difficult people, slow public transportation, etc. But, when it comes to waiting for something new, I am admittedly the worst. I find that anticipation is most jarring when you know that something is right around the corner, just about to happen. It can be agonizing.

Today that “something” is a UPS truck, and on it is my shiny new Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GX1 Digital Camera.

Image courtesy of B&H

I have been researching compact mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras (MILC), along with DSLRs for a couple of weeks now, and I finally landed on this guy. I’ve wanted to upgrade to something more professional than my iPhone or a point and shoot camera, and MILCs sit right in between point and shoots and DSLRs. Opinions on this vary with each person you talk to, and some pro photographers may scoff if they read this, but the GXL is just what I need. It is compact, and has all of the capabilities of a DSLR, it even takes the same lenses.

I am so excited to have this camera for my upcoming trip to Europe. At first I felt guilty buying myself such an expensive Christmas gift, but now I am just excited that I will be able to share my memories in a higher resolution…if only it would get here!

Did you buy yourself anything for the holidays? Leave me comments, I need  distractions while I wait for the man in brown! 

One thought on “Anticipation is the Enemy

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: San Diego Food Photos | Christina Does

Leave a Reply

