SheMakes Holiday Festival in Review

Hello and happy Monday! I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend – I know I did! Last week, I told you lovely readers about the SheMakes Holiday Festival, a gathering of 30+ female vendors, selling handmade goodies. I’m a sucker for handmade, so on Saturday I decided to leave my apartment while the sun was still up (a weekend rarity), and head down to Hudson Street to see what all the fuss was about.

I was slightly underwhelmed by the event – after attending the Renegade Craft Fair for the past couple of years, I was shocked at how small scale this event was. I could easily cover the whole room in 20 minutes. That said, there were a handful of vendors that did catch my eye, and three reasons that I’m very glad I went:

1. PeaceBOMB: This company makes bracelets and other jewelry and items out of metal from littered bombs in Laos, Vietnam from the Vietnam War. Read about the mission and impact of their effort here and here, and check out their shop. I’m obsessed.
2. MagPie: This vintage shop had GORGEOUS furs on display. I think I spent 15 minutes petting them and mentally fighting with my budget to try to make one fit. Alas, budget won and I had to walk away.
3. HaveToHave.com: I’m loving this registry website. The idea is similar to Pinterest – bookmark items you’re coveting, create lists, etc. The big difference that makes all the difference? Have to Have tells you when your favorite items go on sale! Also, they have a great export feature that makes you list look pretty and blog-embeddable. Check out some of my favorite items from SheMakes via this handy list:

How was your weekend? Did you get any holiday shopping done?

One thought on “SheMakes Holiday Festival in Review

Leave a Reply

