Giving Thanks to Our Marines

I was trying write up a Thanksgiving post last night, but got stuck in reflection and appreciation for everything around me. I feel SO lucky – my life is exactly where I want it to be right now. My family is wonderful, my boyfriend is amazing, I have a great job in a not-so-great economy… I am so thankful for this life.


As I was reflecting on all of the people and things I’m grateful for, I received an email from my best friend asking if I would be interested in sending a holiday care package to a deployed Marine. MALS-29 runs a “Santas Care Package” program that connects families with single, deployed Marines to share holiday cheer. 


I’m excited to be part of this program, and send a personal “Thank You” to someone who is fighting for our country. I’d like to share this opportunity with all of you lovely readers. If you are interested in participating, please email the Family Readiness Officer for MALS-29, Brandie Anderson at brandie.anderson@usmc.milThe cut-off date for adoption is November 28th, and packages should be sent by December 1st to reach the Marines in time.

Brandie shared a few ideas for care packages:

  • Homemade cookies or candy (please list ingredients)
  • Disposable hand warmers
  • Green or black socks
  • Candy
  • Health magazines
  • Sports magazines
  • Maxim
  • DVD’s
  • Books about the military, history or “Best sellers list”
  • Pocket/travel games
  • Beef jerky
I’ll be sure to share my package with you before I send it off to my Marine. 🙂 



3 thoughts on “Giving Thanks to Our Marines

Leave a Reply

