What’s your Halloween style?

Today is an exciting day – we are now exactly two weeks away from Halloween! I always tend to buy my costume elements last minute, and a scramble to put everything together, but my goal this year is to have my entire costume ready to go by the end of this week.
I’m a huge fan of the DIY costume, and I love costumes based on historical figures even more. Two years ago, the boyfriend and I dressed up as a postmortem Sid & Nancy. This year, we’ve decided that he will be Abraham Lincoln (postmortem as well), and I will be John Wilkes Booth. I’m so excited to wear a mustache and dress up in stylish men’s vintage. And I love Halloween props. I will be carrying a playbill from Booth’s final play, and a shotgun.
Boyfriend and I as Sid and Nancy 
This is my third year doing DIY, instead of one of those fancy costumes that cost $60+ dollars and come in a plastic bag. The best part of DIY is that as long as your aren’t a bloody messy character like a zombie, you can usually salvage some of the elements from your costume to add to your wardrobe. My three favorite spots to put together a successful and affordable DIY costume are Forever 21, H&M and thrift shops. I fully intend to thrift a jacket for my costume, and the rest can definitely be found at Forever 21 and H&M at low cost.
What will you be for Halloween this year?

2 thoughts on “What’s your Halloween style?

Leave a Reply

