Rent the Runway this NYE

Am I completely behind the times for JUST discovering Rent the Runway? I mean, I’ve heard of rental sites for designer items, but I never considered it before. I guess my brain was on overload with all the things I wanted to own! But I just saw an article on Elle.com about a NYE pop-up shop  in SoHo for Rent the Runway, a site that lets you rent designer digs for up to 90% off.
 
I’m especially digging the affordable accessory rentals since I was considering accessorizing a basic LBD for New Year’s. I’ll admit, I HATE buying accessories. I like wearing sentimental jewelry that’s gifted to me (it helps that my boyfriend has incredible taste). But sometimes you know EXACTLY what you need to complete an outfit, and in that case renting sounds brilliant.
 
Check out this Ted Rossi cuff that you can rent for just $30.
All items come dry cleaned and ready to go. You can get back up sizes, as well as insurance (in case you’re as clumsy as me!), and return shipping is free in their pre-paid envelopes.
 
I’m  definitely going to try to visit the pop-up shop, but if not, this is on the list for places to birthday dress shop next month!
 
Info on the pop-up shop from Elle.com:

The New York City space has everything from chic Badgley Mishka sheaths to rib-hugging Herve Leger bandage frocks, all for prices way below retail (most are under $100), in addition to a team of hair and makeup artists on-hand to help with any last-minute blowouts. The catch? Since you’re just renting the dress, come 2011 you’ll have to return it.

Those who can make it to the Rent the Runway pop-up need to reserve ahead (it’s another online favorite—Gilt City—that’s peddling the $5 certificates you need to enter the Varick Street spot). But just because you’re outside city limits doesn’t mean you’re out of luck for the evening: Rent the Runway has a virtual New Year’s Eve shop, so you can pick up a Halston Heritage sequin dress without ever leaving the house.”

Happy shopping!


*Edit* it seems access to the pop-up shop is sold out… boo hoo 😦 

Leave a Reply

